Director & Professor


Donald Y.C. Lie, Ph.D, Fellow, IEEE 
K.S. Lu Regents Chair Professor
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Edward E. Whitacre Jr. College of Engineering
Adjunct Professor
Dept. of Surgery, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC)
Texas Tech University, Lubbock, TX 79409-3102
Emails: (O)
Donald Y. C. Lie (S’86–M’87–SM’00-F'17) received his B.S.E.E. degree from the National Taiwan University in 1987, and the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in electrical engineering (minor in applied physics) from Caltech, Pasadena, in 1990 and 1995, respectively. He has held technical and managerial positions at companies such as Rockwell International, Silicon-Wave (now Qualcomm), IBM, Microtune Inc., SYS Technologies, and Dynamic Research Corporation (DRC). He is currently the Keh-Shew Lu Regents Chair Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Texas Tech University, Lubbock, Texas, and also an Adjunct Professor in the Department of Surgery, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC), supervising M.D./Ph.D students. He is instrumental in bringing in multi-million dollars research funding and also designed real-world commercial communication products sold internationally. He was a Visiting Lecturer to the ECE Department, University of California, San Diego (UCSD) during 2002-2007 where he taught upper-division and graduate-level classes and affiliated with UCSD’s Center of Wireless Communications (CWC) and co-supervised Ph.D. students. Dr. Lie has served as the General Chair of IEEE VLSI-DAT 2015-2017, an OCM (organizing committee member) of the Global Summit on Clinical Research & Biomarkers Conference, 2017, and also on the Executive/Steering Committees of the IEEE RFIC Symp., SiRF, MWSCAS, TSWMCS (Texas Wireless Symp.) He is also the TPC (Technical Program Committee) Subcommittee Chair on transmitter circuits for IEEE RFIC Symp., and as a TPC member for IEEE RWS, PAWR, SiRF, ISCAS, BIOCAS, ASICON, etc. Dr. Lie was the Conference General Chair of IEEE BCTM 2014, IEEE SiRF 2014, and the TPC Chair/co-Chair for IEEE VLSI-DAT 2013-15, IEEE BCTM 2011-13, and IEEE SiRF’11. Dr. Lie has been awarded with the US NAVY SPAWAR SSC San Diego “Center Team Achievement Award”, Spring 2007, won 3 DRC Silver Awards of Excellence, 2005-2007; received IBM "FIRST" chairman patent award, 2001-2002 and Rockwell International’s “FIRST” engineering awards, 1996-1998. He and his students have won 15 Best Graduate Student Paper Awards and Best Paper Awards in international conferences for 1994, 1995, 2006, 2008 (twice), 2010 (thrice), 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 and also 2017. Professor Lie's student has received the Texas Tech University 2016 Most Outstanding Master Thesis Award in Math, Science, and Engineering. Dr. Lie has served as a Guest Editor for IEEE Journal of Solid-State Circuits (JSSC) in Sept. 2009, Associate Editor of IEEE Microwave and Wireless Components Letters(MWCL) 2010-2017, Associate Editor-in-Chief for the Open Journal of Applied Biosensor since 2012, Special Topic Editor for IEEE MWCL in June 2012, Guest Editor and Editorial Board Member for Biosensors, MDPI since Nov. 2016, Guest Editor, Wireless Communications and Mobile Computing, 2017, and Guest Editor of IEEE Transaction on Microwave Theory and Techniques, 2017. Dr. Lie has consulted for several commercial IC design companies and an international research institute, and also served on several patents and trade secrets litigation cases with some of the largest business litigation firms in the US. Dr. Lie has co-founded the NoiseFigure Research Inc. with his former PhD student Dr. Jerry Lopez since 2009 at Lubbock, Texas, focusing on state-of-the-art RF-SoC technologies and the company has won numerous STTR/SBIR awards and direct contracts and creating jobs. Dr. Lie has authored/coauthored over 200 peer-reviewed technical papers and book chapters and holds seven U.S. patents. Dr. Lie’s group has won 4 DARPA subcontracts in the past 7 years and published three most downloaded TOP 100 papers on highly efficient radio-frequency silicon power amplifier design in the IEEE Xplore™ among millions of publications in Sept. 2012, June 2012, and Sept. 2009 (ranked #80, #88, and #21 for these 3 months, respectively). Dr. Lie has been awarded with the AFRL Summer Faculty Fellowship Program (SFFP) at Dayton, Ohio, 2018, and appointed as a Chair Professor, College of Electrical Engineering, National Chiao-Tung University (NCTU), Hsin-Chu, Taiwan, since Aug. 1 2018. Dr. Lie is on the IEEE 5G Technology Roadmap Hardware committee, actively help establishing a 5G and Beyond Technology Roadmap, which identifies short- (~3 years), mid- (~5 years) and long-term (~10 years) research, innovation, and technology trends in the communications ecosystem. He is a Fellow of IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers), a Senior Chapter Member of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI), and a member of ASCO (American Society of Clinical Oncology) and AAAS (American Association for the Advancement of Science). His research interests are: (1) power-efficient RF/Analog IC and System-on-a-Chip (SoC) design and test, especially on radio-frequency silicon power amplifier (PA); and (2) interdisciplinary and clinical research on medical electronics, biosensors, oncology, and and AI-assisted medicine. More information on Dr. Lie's research group can be found HERE.


PhD Students Wanted !!

Professor Lie's group is now looking for highly motivated, honest and skilled PhD students interested in radio-frequency integrated circuits (RF IC) and system design and testing to join our 5G RF & millimeter-wave (mmWave) IC Design Team !

Mr. Travis Hall's thesis has been awarded with TTU's First Place Master's Thesis Winner for 2016 in the category of Math, Physical Sciences, and Engineering

Dr. Lie is at San Francisco, CA for the IEEE International Microwave Symposium Week (IMS2016 Week) and he is serving as the Chair of IEEE RFIC Symp

Print Print | Sitemap
© Prof. Donald Y.C. Lie, Texas Tech University. All Rights Reserved